Ramadan: Thank Goodness it’s (almost) over…

 

I have to admit, I am not too fond of the month of Ramadan for a number of reasons.

I don’t mind the fasting aspect, on the contrary, it’s always good to appreciate your environment and be thankful that you are (hopefully) in a comfortable position in your life. I also appreciate that Ramadan tends to be a very family-centric month. I’ve been able to see all my immediate family members each and every day – something which I usually don’t get a chance to do during a ‘normal’ month.

However, what I do not like is that the countries ‘production’ – as a whole – comes to a complete standstill. It’s as if Kuwait just goes to sleep and has a feasible excuse to do absolutely nothing constructive. 

Take my example;  I’m trying to get a bunch of things done with our various (infamous) Ministries. In the best of times it takes too long – but during Ramadan – can you say – hair pulling, teeth grinding frustration?  

By the time the Ministry staff members actually get in to work – they stamp a couple of papers, start looking at their watches and are already thinking about getting back to bed to avoid the ensuing hunger.

  I would estimate a grand total of around 2 hours per day where you can actually get things done.

It would be fascinating to see some productivity numbers for the months of Ramadan in Kuwait. I cannot imagine how they would look on a graph. I would guess that full capacity does not resume until at least 5-10 days AFTER everyone is back from their Eid holiday.

Oh well, I guess it’s just one of those things that will NEVER change….Me, I’m just looking forward to getting back into a normal routine again. I miss that daily predicatablity!  

Oh and Eid Mubarak! (well almost)……

2 Responses to Ramadan: Thank Goodness it’s (almost) over…

  1. Marzouq says:

    I know exactly what you mean! Productivity levels drop to nothing! You cant do anything about the people! They are extremely annoying and they dont want to work!

    They think the whole month is a damn holiday!

    On the other side of things. Its fantastic that you get to see family so much and I love see my family! You become closer again with your family! catching up with everything! I know exactly what your talking about..

  2. naughty star says:

    Man there’s always a reason why they don’t want to work in summer its hot …Ramadan hungry….winter they’re bored and want to go out and enjoy the weather lol

Leave a Reply

